James Chung-Gon was one of a small number of Chinese
merchants active in the city early last century.
He came to Australia as a young lad after hearing about the gold rush.
In Tasmania, Chung-Gon first worked in a tin mine near Branxholm, then in a market garden near the goldfields at Leroy. From Leroy he moved into Launceston. In 1885 he returned to China where he married Mei Ying Lee, known in Tasmania as Mary.
Upon his return to Tasmania, Chung-Gon was again briefly involved in tin mining before establishing one of the first commercial orchards in Northern Tasmania at Turners Marsh.